How to Add Facebook Admins Without Being Hijacked

When taking over clients’ Facebook Public pages, I’m often offered their personal username and password to log in. Here’s a word of serious caution…DON’T ever give out your username and password to anyone because you run the risk of your Facebook page getting hijacked. 

So, what are your options if you recruit a volunteer or you’re hiring someone to help manage your Facebook public page? Facebook gives you the tools to give that person administrative rights to do work on your public page; they are called ‘page roles’.

The five levels are as follows:

  • Admin – this role has the rights to do EVERYTHING: add and remove people, post on the page, see who has posted on the page (I’ll explain that more), respond to comments, change settings, remove and ban people, create Facebook ads, and view analytics. Because of the power of this role, only assign it to those who absolutely need it and those you trust. Anyone with this role can remove the page owner/creator from that page. You don’t want anyone taking your page hostage.
  • Editor – this role can do everything the admin role can do EXCEPT add and remove people and change page settings. This is ideal for someone who is responsible for the content on your public page. It is also the default setting when you are adding someone new.
  • Moderator – this role is perfect for someone who is focused on customer service. It can respond to comments and questions, remove and ban people, create Facebook ads, and view analytics.
  • Advertiser – this role is for the person who is only creating Facebook ads for you. It can create ads and view analytics.
  • Analyst – this is the lowest level role and is ideal for the social media strategist that is helping you with your social media strategy and/or content strategy.

To add or delete a page role on your laptop/desktop, follow these steps:

  • Click on ‘settings’ in the top right corner of your public page
  • Click on ‘page roles’ in the left-hand column
  • Type in the name of the person (not the email) in the box (see explanation below)
  • Enter your personal Facebook password (this is just to verify that it is you)

To add or delete a page role from your Android or iPhone, follow these steps:

  • Go to your public page, click the three lines (iPhone) or three dots (Android) in the bottom right corner
  • Scroll down and click on ‘page settings’
  • Click on ‘edit page roles’
  • Click ‘add person to page’
  • Enter your personal Facebook password (this is just to verify that it is you)

When adding someone to a page role, that person must have liked the page already or you must be friends with that person. That way, the name will auto-populate. Facebook will also ask you to enter your password to confirm that it is you. The password requested is your personal log in password.

The last benefit to assigning page roles is that each post will show the name of the person who posted. That can only be seen by those with admin or editor privileges, so you are now able to hold your content creators accountable for their posts. This management feature is important for you to protect the integrity of your content.

Suzzette Turnbull is the CEO of Uncommon Marketing, Author and social media speaker. Connect with her on Facebook and LinkedIn at Suzzette Turnbull and on InstagramTwitter, and Periscope at @suzyturn. Be sure to subscribe to the website for more social media tips, resources and upcoming trainings. Click the Shop Tab for more info on her social media book.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s